Ramble. Focus. Ramble.

Roads of Lahore for Women

So I am standing on the road and I am waiting for my car. And even though I am wearing quite a lot, it doesn’t feel so.

A bike passes by and the guy sticks his tongue out, for whatever reason. I am thinking, “What the fuck is wrong with him!”

Then I get flying smooches from another pair on the bike that passes by and I look at myself and think, “Am I really in a fucking bikini here?”

So, I get it, it’s a bad idea to be on the road. The roads of Lahore are hostile to women and that would be an understatement.

Now I look at myself again and I wonder what I did wrong. How could I have gone wrong? This fall was going to be all about a low-profile. I had let go of the striped-pants I wanted and used-up all my money on “Shalwar Kameez.” Alright, maybe just kameez. I had prepared well to come to the University of Punjab; got myself about 10 new Kameez-ein stitched. Who would not want to keep a low-profile going to school with the terrorists-to-be? Even though a pair of jeans and a Tee is pretty damn covering according to me but I set my rules, this time, especially for the Jamiat at the University of Punjab. And I can’t stress this enough but I GOT A WHOLE CLOSET FULL OF KAMEEZ-EIN. AND I WEAR A STUPID DUPATTA TO THIS UNIVERSITY, EVERYDAY!

Coming back to the road, the kameez and the dupatta was apparently not enough. My clothes were not tight, they never are. Yes, I was wearing half-sleeves but my dupatta was covering most of my arm.

Oh and my dupatta was of chiffon so I guess, kill me?

Or kill me for my short hair? What was it?

Coming back to the road for real this time, a rickshaw stopped by, “Kahan jaingi?” I shook my head in order to tell him that I am not waiting on a rickshaw but he was just there, staring and insisting.

Later, a car stopped by and three men came out smiling at me, talking to each other ABOUT me and yes that’s easy to tell. Well, they did pass by me but almost when I was dead sure they were going to stuff me in their trunk and drive away.

Anyway, for about 15 minutes, I was everybody’s business. I was a rabbit that had walked into the lion’s den and there were countless lions in that den.

I remember two men distinctly, who passed by me without looking at me. That was the little humanity I saw; two men who had lowered their gaze on seeing a woman. Period.

I wanted to believe that morality requires no authority and everyone had some in them. But it’s probably false to assume that there is innate morality in man. We are not genuinely good. I come out on the street and I know this for a fact because every man looks like a wolf there. The streets and roads of Pakistan, for a person like me, are the same as forests where you find a carnivorous beast at every step you take. Men, here, are hungry animals. They are not human. It is impossible to think they have families, sisters and mothers.

 

 

20 comments on “Roads of Lahore for Women

  1. Behrooz Faisal
    October 10, 2013

    This is the so called beauty of the streets of Pakistan and specially Punjab University. I feel like killing all those people who stair women like they are wearing X-ray goggles.

  2. Shahbaz Ahmed
    October 10, 2013

    And Then We Say Hadoodh Ordinance Empowers Women. Bullshit Empowerment

  3. Iqra
    October 12, 2013

    Hey no offence but wearing a dupatta isn’t an embarrassing or stupid thing to do. Since when did it become stupid? I totally agree with every other point you emphasized on but you gotta scrutinize the profound facts that Quran has focused on, regarding wearing a dupatta or covering your head. Otherwise, thumbs up for raising your voice against the low-lives (Y)

    • hadeelnaeem
      October 12, 2013

      Jigar, Christians bhi rehtay is society mey. You need to stop imposing Islamic teachings onto people.

      I am really good with what you hold important and so I never disrespect the Holy Scripture but I really don’t take it word for word. Rather I don’t take it in matter of arguments at all.

      And I am not the first one, so don’t start on me.

      Also, thanks for the thumbs-up.

      I dislike dupattas for the article of clothing that they are and because I find them unnecessary. Also, taking does not help a lot in this society.

  4. Iqra
    October 12, 2013

    I have Christian friends who cover their heads just for the sake of the respect they hold for the society they are living in. “AND I WEAR A STUPID DUPATTA TO THIS UNIVERSITY, EVERYDAY!” how come they are unnecessary, please elaborate. And I am not imposing any Islamic teaching, I was merely letting you know the importance of dupatta in our culture and religion. Trust me, It was your dupatta that made those two guys respect you aur yehi apnay jeans aur tee pehni hoti to apko koi wakei utha k lay jata. This is a naked, ugly truth.

    • hadeelnaeem
      October 12, 2013

      Oh so human beings are respected because of dupattas and we are proud of that?

  5. Iqra
    October 12, 2013

    And you didn’t have to get offended since you posted this article for the common public. I didn’t start on you sweetheart I just didn’t like the way you illustrated the role of dupatta. Make yourself open to healthy, constructive criticism.

    • hadeelnaeem
      October 12, 2013

      I am very open don’t worry about it. But then again, you argument for the dupatta stems from culture and religion. You ignore the fact that people don’t think bog for that.

      I know people who HAVE to wear a dupatta. I am criticizing the stupidity of the society where protection comes from an article of clothing. And no it’s not much of a protection. We are raping 5 year olds and they don’t have anything to hide with their dupatta.

      • Mishal
        October 15, 2013

        I really like your blog, but I have an issue with some of the comments you are making because they contradict each other. First you state that: “That was the little humanity I saw; two men who had lowered their gaze on seeing a woman. Period.”. Lowering a gaze when you see a woman is distinctly an Islamic teaching. It is not a secular belief. I, for one, believe it would be more empowering and a sign of humanity if those men looked me in the eyes and acknowledged me as another equal human being, rather than lowering their gazes as if they can’t bear to see me or making sleazy comments which objectify me. So with that statement, you are perpetuating an islamic belief and imposing that belief on others. Therefore, you cannot get mad at her for trying to also bring up religion and culture into the argument because you took that route first. Not attacking, just pointing something out for future reference.

      • hadeelnaeem
        October 15, 2013

        Well your argument holds only if I take lowering gaze as an Islamic teaching. All I am trying to say is morality is not only linked to Islam in the world.

        The two men could have been Christians or atheists. Alright?

      • hadeelnaeem
        October 15, 2013

        You people really can’t get out of Islamic teachings can you? It’s why you don’t believe in a good that isn’t derived from religion. But there is whether you believe in it or not.

        Religion is just an authority. There would have been good in man even if there were no religions. And the dickheads remain dickheads no matter how strongly they believe in a God. That’s the point.

    • Irteza Rehman
      October 15, 2013

      Hahahaha! Yeh lame auntee kon hai?

  6. sanila
    October 17, 2013

    absolute truth it is! ladies its not to offend you but the fact is I wear duppata but still i face same stuff, its just that A DUPPATTA can’T SAVE YOU untill men in your society learns to respect opposite gender , and this respect element has nothing to do with any specific religion its same for whole mankind!!!

    • hadeelnaeem
      October 17, 2013

      Thank you.

      • Mishal
        October 17, 2013

        I understand what you are saying, but I do not subscribe to that belief that lowering a gaze is a sign of morality whether it comes from islamic teaching or is innate. Lowering a gaze actually takes away from a person’s individuality. When you meet someone eye to eye, that is a sign of respect.

  7. sabeelurrashaad
    October 22, 2013

    If you take your eyes of the people who are full of weaknesses and faults for a moment and turn our attention to Allah as if it is only He and you,the picture would be different. Not out of any need but out of Love and Mercy Allah brought you into being.He fashioned you in the best of forms. Gave you beautiful eyes to see, lovely ears to hear, magnificent mouth to speak, a terrific brain to reason and think. Then the arm, legs and rest of this body.One thing goes wrong in any organ or limb and life becomes different.
    Outside this body, He has created in the earth and universe things for our benefit and facilitate our life; foods,air,waters,modes of transport, beautiful scenery to admire.
    He has blessed us with a family structure to love fellow human beings.
    His favours are innumerable upon us.we can never repay him but only express our gratitude and obey Him which is His right.He has a system which is not haphazard but definite. Throughout the ages He has sent various prophets to guide mankind and all did their duty. Finally He sent Muhammad s.a.w with the Quraan for the whole of mankind till the last day. In the Quraan a large portion talks of the mracles and efforts of the previous prophets and all called to one Allah to the people and time period they were sent. The Quran starts off in surah Baqarah by stating, ‘This is the Book in which there is absolutely no doubt..’
    If the Creator states there is no doubt, is there any scope for this weak creation to question any verse or command therein?
    Allah Ta aala has declared Islaam is the final way.it is not the declaration of any human. If the university senate pronounce that only the end of year exams will dtermine pass or failure, no student contests why mid term exams are not considered.
    My dear sister, I write this not to argue with you but to humbly plead to you not to get carried away with philosophies. My name is Junaid and I graduated from Cambridge university with masters of laws. I did philosophy in the first year of my undergraduate degree.Allah’s shukr wasn’t affected by ‘great thinkers’. If they never recognised Allah and brought faith in him, what benefit did it bring them besides confusing generations to come after them.
    In gist, if Islaam and the laws or morals you question were man made, by all means you would have the right to say what you want. But since it is from the Sole Creator, why repay His Kindness upon you in questioning Him? If you still feel contrary, reality will always be there and in the hereafter our eyes will open but it will be too late.

    • Irteza Rehman
      October 23, 2013

      You graduated from Cambridge as what, Maters in Bullshit? Take your fucking religious crap elsewhere. This blog belongs to normal people!
      DIE MOLVI DIE!
      Now fuck off and go rape some women or goats or whatever it is you taliban do nowadays!

  8. Maryam Jamil
    October 22, 2013

    i have heard so much about lahore traffic and also went there many times but never any thing like that happens to me 🙂
    and all men are not like that
    i dont think so
    u can wear anything u like its ur right
    and anyone see can anything its their’s right 🙂

Leave a Reply

