Ramble. Focus. Ramble.

Let’s start with the basics. What is philosophy?

 

To be or not to be is probably not the question. The question is “should I major in philosophy?

Response 1: “Erm, obviously not! Why? What would that bring? What do philosophers do exactly? How big will the paycheck be? And what company is looking for philosophers? Wait, what do philosophers do?”

Response 2: HECK NO! ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND? MY HOUSE MY RULES. YOU STUDY WHAT I WANT YOU TO STUDY. Wait, what do philosophers do?

Response 3: Sure dude, it’s like an easy way out of college. Though you might never get a job. Wait, what do philosophers do?

Here is the funny thing I am losing my grip on answering questions. I remember how it was before; 2+2 was 4 and everything in the world was just so cool. It’s not like that anymore. I don’t have answers anymore. I have none for the questions I am asked over and over again. Possibilities are that philosophy is so stupid that I don’t even know what philosophers do or “answers” is just not what philosophers do.

So here is the answer and that is “philosopher don’t do answers.” Ironically this looks like an answer but it really isn’t because it doesn’t answer your question. So that’s what philosophers do. Now that again doesn’t really answer anything.

What is philosophy?

It is thinking. That’s what it really is. That’s just why they never have answers. Because they are always thinking.

Like, right now, I am thinking how this world is growing and diminishing at the same time.

Curious. Very curious.

Studying philosophy

There is philosophy and there is the study of philosophy that one can engage in. So far, I am in the study of philosophy and it would probably take me a long time before I step into philosophy itself.

Career in philosophy

Excellent question. As a student of philosophy I have brought myself to love questions more than answers. It pleases me to hear a question and answers just never satisfy. One could relate this to Karl Popper’s falsification principle but only so.

I am a dreamer but not an extravagant one, so I don’t think money. For those who do think money I have an answer but then again it barely satisfies me. Philosophy teachers have better cars than teachers from any other department. How’s that for an answer?

 

 

2 comments on “Let’s start with the basics. What is philosophy?

  1. Dalva
    July 17, 2012

    i agree. thankshttp://www.mitchwilder.com

  2. gypsyfreak
    November 12, 2014

    “So far, I am in the study of philosophy and it would probably take me a long time before I step into philosophy itself.” I LOVE THIS. Been trying to put what I do in words and this is perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2012 by in Journal, Philosophy.
